Watch Kona Rider Antoine Bizet compete in the Swatch Prime Line this weekend

sd05_14_spl_Antoine_Bizet_002_1200_799_eye_magazine_popup

Kona Gravity Team Rider Antoine Bizet with a monster front flip at last years Swatch Prime Line event. Photo: Swatch Prime Line

Round 2 of the FMB Diamond Series brings the world to Munich, Germany for Swatch Prime Line! After round 1 in New Zealand and a three month break, the top FMB contenders are reenergized, and have even more tricks dialed-in to show off at the first European Diamond Series event this season. Brett Rheeder currently leads the standings after Crankworx Rotorua – but close behind, Nicholi Rogatkin and Thomas Genon are eager to jump ahead here in Europe. You can watch the top athletes drop in for Swatch Prime Line, live on fmbworldtour.com on Saturday, June 27th from 4:45pm (CEST).

Some of the riders have been attending FMB Gold and Silver events across Europe, while others have been focusing hard on dialing in their best tricks for round 2 of the FMB Diamond Series. Here, the current ranking leader, Brett Rheeder could secure his position even more with a win, or his closest rivals, Nicholi Rogatkin and Thomas Genon could jump ahead and put the pressure on the only X Games MTB Slopestyle Gold medalist. Once again, the top 10 athletes from the 2014 Diamond Series ranking are automatically qualified for Swatch Prime Line, so the competition could not be on more of a knife-edge. Here is the rider line up:

Rider_LineUp_SPL_s[1]

Deeply missed in the line up is Martin Soderstrom who unfortunately broke his leg. We all wish him a fast recovery. Anton Thelander is no stranger to Olympia Park after winning Red Bull Phenom here just 2 years ago – he will replace Martin as first alternate in the line up. A keen addition to the list is BMX legend Ryan Nyquist, who after a strong performance at 26TRIX not 2 weeks ago has secured the event wildcard from Olympia Park Munich. The German crowds are excited to see this legendary athlete take on Swatch Prime Line. Also at 26TRIX, Tom van Steenbergen won the FMB Wildcard and will certainly strengthen the Canadian force. Reigning Champion, Louis Reboul will return to defend his title, but can he win again on this bigger and longer course? Swatch Pro Team athlete and former World Champion, Sam Pilgrim will also be in Munich to throw down for the crowds.

On Friday June 26th, 24 invited riders will be cut down to 12 during qualifying. Then the finals on Saturday will give the athletes 2 runs to go big, be victorious and claim some big points towards the FMB Diamond Series standings. The contest is another chance for the FMB Factory Teams to climb the standings. Currently Specialized lead the way, but with Martin Soderstrom out, can American rider Nicholi Rogatkin keep them ahead or will the Canyon Factory Team take over the lead? With a strong Canadian presence, maybe we will see TREK C3 Project move in front. You can follow the rankings on www.fmbworldtour.com.

Save the date and tune in for the live webcast here. Here are the viewing times:

SATURDAY, 27 JUNE, 4:45PM CEST
SATURDAY, 27 JUNE, 7:45AM PDT
SATURDAY, 27 JUNE, 10:45AM EDT
SUNDAY, 28 JUNE, 0:45AM AEST
SUNDAY, 28 JUNE, 2:45AM NZST