Kona Victorian Downhill Series – Round 4 Mt.Buller

Heading to Mt.Buller for round 4 of the series Connor and Dean were both looking to secure the win, Connor who was sitting in 1st place coming into the race really wanted to improve on previous results to reclaim top spot in the series. Dean was also pushing hard as he knew a win from this race would see him secure the overall having done enough in previous races. The race was super competitive with over 340 riders trying their skills on a very demanding course. Connor and Dean both qualified fastest gaining some extra points and adding extra pressure to fellow racers chasing them. In the final Connor slipped a pedal out of the gate which no doubt played a part in his result, 2nd by .7 of a second. Dean pushed hard in the final and nearly came unstuck hitting a tree with his head which didn’t seem to slow him down too much, only to find his rear tyre going flat in the bottom section of the course. Dean pushed on to take the win in 3.27.048 nearly 5 seconds ahead of the nearest competition.

Chris Whitelock and Alex Swann both qualified with Chris gaining his best result for the season finishing in 9th, Alex battled injuries after crashing hard on Saturday breaking a stem and himself, Alex managed to finish in 22nd.

1st: Rhys Atkinson – 3.24.856
2nd: Connor Fearon – 3.25.581 (KONA FACTORY TEAM)
3rd: Tim Eaton – 3.26.573
4th: Liam Panozzo – 3.27.761
5th: Rick Boyer – 3.27.927
(9th) Chris Whitelock – 3.31.432 ( KONA AUSTRALIA FACTORY TEAM)
(22nd) Alex Swann – 3.41.648 (KONA AUSTRALIA FACTORY TEAM)

U19’s finals:
1st: Dean Lucas – 3.27.048 (KONA AUSTRALIA FACTORY TEAM)
2nd: Thomas Crimmins – 3.31.347
3rd: Jack Moir – 3.32.911
4th: Luke Ellisoon – 3.35.187
5th: Nicolas Bohle – 3.37.197

Ty Mclean