Kona Factory Team rider Helen Wyman has won her 6th straight UK National Championships with victory in Derby today. The result didn’t look in doubt once Helen had taken the lead on the first lap and she powered away from the competition to finish almost a minute in front of the chasers.

“The national championships are always a big deal, even if you don’t target them. I’m very proud to wear the jersey, and to win for a record 6th time is fantastic. It feel just as good to win this year as ever before and I couldn’t be happier” said Helen after the race.
Gabby Day was strong competition over the opening lap, and held 2nd for a long part of the race, but a slip on the last lap cost her the chance to go for the silver medal, and it was Nikki Harris that took advantage and got 2nd place.

“I was very confident coming into the race. There is less pressure on me at this race than at most, so I slept very well and rode a controlled race. I’ve been in Portugal training for the World Champs, so I was very flat for this event, but managed to find the parts of the course that suit me and get the gap I needed. I needed to fit in a big weeks training after the terrible weather in Belgium these past few weeks. But I could really feel it in my legs today.” continued Helen. “The next 3 weeks are big for me; two very good world cup courses that suit my strengths and then Worlds. A nice easy week coming up, followed by some final prep and I’m confident I’ll be in good shape for St Wendel”
[nggallery id=153]

“I have to say a big thank you to Kona for their support again this season. It’s been a good season for me with 5 wins so far and 10 podiums. That’s the same as I had all of last season, and I’ve still got 8 events to go this year. I also should thank Muc-Off for their support today; they made life really easy with their support.”

“There were a lot of people out there cheering for me today, and that was great. Fingers crossed I can give them a lot more to cheer about over the next few weeks.”

Brief Result
1. Helen Wyman (Kona) 0:40:09
2. Nikki Harris (APB Cycling Team) 0:00:54
3. Gabriella Day (The ChainStay-RENNER) 0:01:10
4. Hannah Payton